1946 Post World-War II Celebration

World War II caused the postponement of the celebration, but after the end of the war in 1946 the Chamber of Commerce was determined to have another celebration. They formed a permanent organization to plan and oversee the celebrations. Norman Crouse was the president of the Chamber of Commerce that year. Walter Keene became the first president of the newly formed Taft Oildorado, Inc. organization. A contest was held to name the celebration, and it was Bill Poff who won the contest with the name of Oildorado. The grand parade was reported to be six miles long. Besides the usual events, a Kentucky breakfast was held as well as an air show. An Old Timers' Barbecue was held at the Petroleum Club. All former mayors of Taft were honored during the celebration. This picture is one of the 1946 Petroleum Maids. From left (standing) Bette Jo Jones, Niada Lucas, Queen Doris Furnage, Barbara Furlong and Mary Colson; (seated) Helen Hickman, Gloannah Rennels and Nina Lance.